top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTimothy Bukowski

Gasket Project

Updated: Feb 17, 2020

January 2020

Overview

For this project I made a thin gasket to cover a custom block, allowing access to all the features of the block.

Objectives

  • Familiarize myself with GibbsCAM and using a CNC mill

  • practice making accurate measurements with a caliper

  • produce a dimensioned sketch and CAD drawing


Sketch and CAD Drawing

Using a caliper I measured the features and created a sketch of the block face.


Creating the Part

After converting the CAD part to GibbsCAM, I sent it to the CNC mill and cut it from thin PVC




Final Notes

In the end I learned different ways to measure accurately grew familiar with using GibbsCAM and the CNC mill. However, my piece did have some mistakes. I made a mistake when measuring the pin which hold the gasket. Instead of having 0.188 inches I made them 0.288 inches in diameter. As you can see in the CAD drawing I later fixed this.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page